Brenau Swim Team Advances to NAIA National Swimming/Diving Championships

The 2013 Brenau University Swim Team group photo.The Brenau Swim Team has once again done an outstanding job of qualifying for the NAIA National Swim Championships and leaves campus Monday, March 3 for Oklahoma City, Okla. to compete in this meet.

NAIA National Swim Championship Qualifiers include Michelle Billeaud, Mary Katherine Jabbia, Talia Sola, Courtney Hayward, Alexandria Watkins, Sophie Nasstrom, Kathleen Rossi and Shelby Rumker. 

The team is currently ranked  No. 4 in the nation as they placed second in the Appalachian Swimming Conference Championships two weeks ago. It was a banner meet for the team as freshman Courtney Hayward was named ASC Swimmer of the Year, and Head Coach Blaire Bachman was awarded ASC Coach of the Year for the third year in a row.

“I am very proud of the amazing year this team has had representing our university, and we wish them all the best as they advance to this championship event,” said Mike Lochstampfor, Brenau University’s athletic director. “Coach Bachman is to be commended for her leadership in helping this team attain some lofty goals. Go Golden Tigers!”