Brenau presents Baxter-Bryan scholarship finalists

Brenau presents Baxter-Bryan scholarship finalists
Left to right: Amanda Lammers, Stookie Bryan, Stefanie Lehman, Zuhra Doost, Amanda Corll, Dr. Nancy Krippel, Chloe Golden, Christina Jundt, Dr. Andrea Birch, Betty Norton, Erin Seng.

Every year, for more than 20 years now, the Baxter-Bryan scholarship committee selects a rising senior in the Women´s College for a special award. The lucky recipient receives coverage of all her expenses for tuition, room and board. Last year´s outstanding winner was Ashley Tolland, who is now working on the graduate portion of her degree in occupational therapy.

This year´s committee consisted of Dr. Nancy Krippel; Dr. Andrea Birch; Amanda Lammers; Stookie Bryan; and trustees Betty Norton and Erin Seng. The student finalists for the award are Amanda Corll; Zuhra Doost; Chloe Golden; Christina Jundt; and Stefanie Lehman.

There are many different scholarships available, all providing support to students in one form or another, but this one reaches far beyond the financial framework. Dr. Nancy Krippel, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, explains: “The Baxter-Bryan Award is more than a scholarship. It is the highest honor bestowed on a residential Women´s College student.”

If you´ve followed news articles in various publications, and features in recent issues of Brenau Window magazine that highlight the many accomplishments of these students, you´ll agree that the committee will have to work very hard to select a winner from the present group.

Thursday, April 12, 2012